• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
[4]

Another Possibly Redundant Pm Or Grizzly Thread

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

abrace

All,

I am getting ready to pull the trigger on a mill. As a bit of history, I purchased the Grizzly G4003G last winter around this time and finally got it installed this spring. I haven't used it as much as I would like yet because I spent most of the year finishing up my shop.

Now it is time to get a mill. I am looking at the G0755 and the PM-932M. I am also toying with the PM-940M.

I am a hobbyist. This isn't for professional work. What would I be machining? Not sure exactly, but a hobby of mine is to build small safes, cabinets, and lockers. Yes, I know that is strange, but I took a couple of locksmithing/safe tech courses over a decade ago and I got into it. I would like to machine my own bolts, handles, hinges and boltwork for these.

In addition, I occasionally work on firearms and would like to get into that a bit more. Finishing some 80% AR15 lower receivers for example.

Ideally I would keep the purchase price under $3K including a vise (but not including tooling). I realize the 940M would put me out of that range. I could swing it if it really made sense.

Also, is the power down feed on the quill really worth the extra $$$ if I went for a PM? Looks to be another $300. Easy to get feature creep on these purchases!

Thanks, and sorry for what is a redundant post. I have seen a few of these threads and read them all, but none seemed to describe my situation exactly.

dieselshadow

Do you smell something?
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
I'd buy the PM940 all over again. It never hurts to have he extra capacity and the excellent customer service and warranty support from Matt and his team at QMT.

T Bredehoft

Active User