At the crossroads of South bend and Import lathes

newman

Registered
Registered
Hi All. Newbie here and a long time lurker. I have had an interest in lathes for sometime now and have accumulated 2 south bend 9A lathes. Both are not without issues, and that is not even getting into back lash and tolerance issues. They both need at least cleaning and new wicks. One is missing this part and the other has a broken that part. So my question to the people who have knowledge in this area: Should I save myself the time of redoing these lathe (do enjoy this part of it, love the old iron) and sell them both and buy a lathe from say Grizzley or somone else? I am a basic, very new hobbyist, probably never do any precision work and wonder if I should just be making chips instead of cleaning and painting. Any guidance would be helpful. Thanks Rick

Well, buying a new lathe would certainly get you into the "now" part of the hobby, but for some that's not necessarily the best part of the hobby. For some the cleaning and painting, the seeing of potential and trying to reach it, the challenge of bringing something not just "to" life but "back to life" is the most enjoyable part. And that's ok.

I look around this forum and see some truly stunning work being produced by guys that have way more skills and talent than I ever will. And way more ideas too -- you need the great ideas in order to make those wonderful things in the first place. Me, I'm a copier. It's very un-glamorous and largely un-inspiring. But I'm really, really good at it!

Your question is one that I suspect many of us ask ourselves. I look around and see what seems like "everyone" buying a new lathe or a new mill. Maybe I should too and then I can just get on with it. But get on with what? Maybe I'm already getting on with what I'm supposed to be getting on with -- that's ok, right?