Bandsaw Coolant?

Buggy Chief

Registered
Registered
Just ordered a 7x12 horizontal bandsaw for my home shop. Will be cutting aluminum and steel and would prefer not to have to change coolants out. Any recommendations? TIA...

Some people run cutting or machine oil in the coolant systems of their machines. They are poor coolants, but do not cause rust, do not go rancid, do not stink, and help to protect the machine. It can still be quite messy and still be a PITA. Shop air can be a pretty good coolant for some things, and mist coolant systems set to deliver a light mist help a lot with a lot less of the problems that flood coolants cause. My attitude is that I am a hobby machinist and I can take lighter cuts, work slower, and take time to let things cool down. The coolant tank on my lathe is still factory dry.

Interesting perspective Bob. Tell me more? For example, I have a 6" diameter 6160 round stock that I need to part off at .375" depth.

I also have an abanaki chillybits air vortex cooler that I was thinking about using as well. Thoughts?

QUOTE="Bob Korves, post: 440238, member: 32170"]Some people run cutting or machine oil in the coolant systems of their machines. They are poor coolants, but do not cause rust, do not go rancid, do not stink, and help to protect the machine. It can still be quite messy and still be a PITA. Shop air can be a pretty good coolant for some things, and mist coolant systems set to deliver a light mist help a lot with a lot less of the problems that flood coolants cause. My attitude is that I am a hobby machinist and I can take lighter cuts, work slower, and take time to let things cool down. The coolant tank on my lathe is still factory dry.[/QUOTE]