Beginner's Exercises & Projects

Hello, well I guess my project is a beginner's project because I am very new to machining and this is my absolute first effort in turning steel. So far I've only turned brass until this project. I turn brass because I repair clocks and the only lathe I have is a watchmaker's (or jeweler's) lathe with a 2.5" swing. Anyway the tailstock to my watchmaker's lathe was non-functioning because of an excessively worn locking cam system. So I used my lathe to fabricate a new replacement cam follower and also a new cam lever. My steel of choice was 1144 stressproof (thanks to Tom my mentor for a lot of advice & help).
So, when I made this project I had a steelcutting bit that I had hand-ground but I'd never tried it out. This took a lot of planning and refusal to move on until I was dead-certain that my next move was the right move. That's why it took me a long time! I was so happy with the results that I made a photo presentation on it.
...Doug

http://s1251.photobucket.com/user/cazboy5525/slideshow/Rivett cam-lever tailstock locking mechanism

I would advise this to those with no experience and who want to enjoy the hobby of machining:

1. Find the machine of your choice, have a machinist friend look it over. Then buy it if it's a good deal. Likely, you will overpay for it but you must start somewhere.
2. Start with simple cuts, using scrap material. Practice!...Practice!...Practice! Nothing beats experience.
3. A lot of information can be retrieved from web sites like Hobby-Machinist, Practical Machinist, etc.

I've never had any formal training with machining. I learned from default in my industrial maintenance career of 30+ years. If I can do it...anyone can do it