[Newbie] Jwest7788 Beginner Machinist Questions Thread

jwest7788

Registered
Registered
Hey all, Just signed up yesterday.

I've acquired a mini mill (craftex) and a B2227L 10X18 Metal Lathe.

As I am new to both tools, I figured I would start my own thread to pack with a series of questions as they inevitably unfold one by one in the coming weeks.

Firstly, I'm currently focused on the lathe, and learning how to use it.

------------------------
Background Below:
TLDR: $650 10X18 lathe + Enough tooling and accessories to keep me going for awhile.
------------------------

I posted an ad on Kijiji (Canadian Craigslist, but way better, lol) looking for a mini mill. Low and behold, someone offered one up. It was essentially new, used for a single project (make four replacement aluminum wheels for RC car) --> Due to the nature of wheels, it came with a rotary table. No tooling $400.

Updated the Kijiji Ad, "Have a mill, looking for a mini lathe"

Got a reply, someone's father passed away, B2227L 10X18, some tooling, $1400 firm. Kindly told him I was looking for a used mini lathe, so this was clearly outside of my budget. Kindly thanked him for his time.

Few weeks later, still hadn't been contacted with anyone selling a mini lathe, but had saved up a full $650 to buy one new. Figured it was a long shot, but emailed the above gentleman back explaining that I planned to buy a mini lathe the next day, but figured I would reach out to see if he could move on my low low low ball.

The look on my face when he called and said "Sure, I'll take your offer. I know it's a steal of a deal, but because you were so polite, I feel like I'm helping you get a leg up in metalworking."

Thought that was cool enough, until I showed up, and he had a drawer full of tooling, centers, chucks, collets, change gears etc. etc. He even through in a custom built bench with chip collection, and a green wheel bench grinder. $650!

Pic attached of one of three drawers with stuff in it.