Machining A Taper

Paul_RR

Registered
Registered
Hello and Happy New Year! Newbie here. I'm trying to make a tapered insert with a through-hole that is used to secure a circular seal. The taper is 20 degrees; the small end is 0.5" diameter and the larger end is 0.64" diameter. Depth is just under 0.2”.

I've made a couple - one out of Delrin and one from aluminum. The way I did that was to turn the taper (small end away from the chuck), drill the through-hole, and then cut-off the part at the larger face. Here's where I run into my problem. I need to drill a countersink for a screw head on the larger face, and I can't come up with the proper method to do that. As the part is rather small, I have a hard time securing it on my drill press. I've resorted to holding it by hand (not the safest alternative, I know) while drilling the countersink. More easily done on Delrin than aluminum, but not precise by any means.

Is there a way to "reverse" taper (smaller end on the chuck side)? That would seem to require an awful lot of extra material removal for tool clearance, but maybe I'm missing something. Maybe there's a better way to secure the part on drill press? I've attached a drawing of the part as well as a couple of photos showing the completed part. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Insert_1.JPG Insert_2.jpg Insert_3.jpg

I have done jobs like this before. I first left enough stock protruding out of chuck, if you're using a collet that's even better, to make four pieces, don't forget to add width of parting tool and material to face off each piece. Next face, center drill and drill to depth needed. Counter sink piece and part to length. For following parts face, counter sink and part. After you completed this make a stub arbor, you can turn an 82 degree angle on end and a stub same diameter as your hole size, make sure stub does not protrude out of part. Finally tap piece with a tap 2 diameters smaller than stub. Mount piece on arbor an turn taper.