[How do I?] Make a box square and set of small dovetail gages (straightedges)

Rex Walters

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
I recently completed Richard King's week long scraping class, and I've made it most of the way through the Connelly book. This, of course, now makes me a certified expert in scraping and machine rebuilding. (Not!)

Just kidding. After several weeks scraping in a cast iron box square casting, I'm increasingly confident in my ability to scrape flat, parallel and square, but I'm still a clueless newbie when it comes to scraping in dovetails and actual machine ways.

Here's the box square / transfer block I made:

IMG_0296.JPG

After spending a month working on that sucker, I also took the time to make a nice felt-lined, finger-jointed wooden box to store it. On Richard's recommendation, I built the case to store the square on end (as it is in the photo) rather than horizontal. The thought being that horizontal storage might lead to a slight bow developing over time. I forgot to photograph the box, but I'll post it if anyone is interested.

I now want to start scraping in my little Logan lathe, especially the replacement cross-slide I made for it. The bed ways are hardened, but the cross slide, compound ways, and compound rotary ways are all fair game.

Before I can do that, though, I needed some small straightedges. Yay! More tools to make.

I purchased a small hunk of cast iron, 12" x 2 1/4" x 1 1/4" with the goal of making three small dovetail gages: one 12" long, one 7.5", and one 4.5".

Rather than mill away half the block, I painstakingly set up my horizontal bandsaw for vertical use and clamped a v-block to the table:

IMG_0307.JPG

Then I spent what felt like hours slicing the bar in half:

IMG_0306.JPG

Then I realized I should have milled all the square edges first instead of leaving them rough.