[Newbie] Need Help getting my ATW Lathe going, Oil and Electrical

JeffEck

Registered
Registered
I recently acquired a 1953 American Pacemaker Lathe 16"x54" The manual calls for High-Grade Machine Oil viscosity 275-290 seconds saybolt at 100degress F. Later for the apron and carriage it specifies an oil for high film strength Socony Vaccum Heavy Medium "X" or equivalent. I have some experience running a lathe as I was taught to run the Rockwell 14" when I was 8 years old, but I have not turned this one on yet. I'm more than open for any advice anyone has. I'd like to get this lathe cleaned up and see how good it is.

Side Note: I'm also trying to figure out how to power this beast. It's 10hp, 3phase. The guy I got it from said he ran it on the static converter that is with it, but I count too many wires (5) to plug into 220v... I'm trying to get a photo of the stuff under the cover that is supposed to be electrical, but it is older than me by several decades ;) I have some experience with 3 phase as I have generated it with a 3 phase motor to run my 5hp Cincinnati press brake and my 3hp mill. The first was 5hp to run a 3hp mill and currently a 10hp to run my 5hp Cincinnati Press Brake and 3hp Mill. I have acquired a 30hp 3phase motor for generation and I have a few good 3 phase disconnect fused panels. I'll post some photos when I figure out how to post them on this forum.

Jeff... I cannot help you with your problem BUT I can welcome you to The Hobby-Machinist...
There are many talented and knowledgeable people here and I'm sure someone will help you.
Again... Welcome.

Welcome to H-M, Jeff. Are you asking for modern equivalents of those oil specifications, just commenting on your new old lathe, and/or something else?

What is the modern or what oil would you put in the machine would be the questions? The level gauge in the headstock looks low as well as the apron. When I get the layers of gunk off it, I want to have the correct lubricants on and in it.