New Member Gets 5 Machines

gold642

machinist farmer
Registered
I am new the the forum and to the site. This is my first post. I am a machinist out of necessary. I need to repair my farm machinery as the dealers are to expensive for me. I own a Van Norman model 12, Clausing 5914 12X36 lathe , and Monarch CY 16X48. I have allows wanted a Bridgeport milling machine and a friend of mine called me about one a friend of his had. I called the guy and he was unwilling to sell just the small Bridgeport. If I wanted it I had to buy everything. There is a Monarch 10 ee sn-ee-17702, Monarch series 50 about the same size as my CY. A small Bridgeport, a surface grinder, a Hobart Tig/stick welder and a Bridgeport series 1 cnc 3xis milling machine. There is also some tooling, both lathes have 3 and 4 jaw chucks and steady rests. The small mill has r8 collets and the series 1 has 30 holders. Both mills have Kurt vises. There is misc. cutters and tool holders. I paid $5200 for everything but other than my friends assurance the everything was operational until the previous owner passed away 2 months ago. It is a pig in the poke. Saturday I am to pickup the machines. I am very excited about what I am going to see. I am not a machinist but have some experiences at repairs. I can do bearing fits and cut key ways . I am hoping everyone here will help me learn to use theses machines and I'm looking forward to your opinions.

Sounds like you found a bird's nest on the ground. Looking forward to seeing pictures of your acquisitions. I would say you found more than a sweet deal.

Welcome to the site. You'll find all the help you need here, I'm sure. We have all shapes and sizes of machinists here, so if you want to know something, just aske. No one will ridicule you for a "dumb" questions. We all weren't born wearing safety glasses and a shop apron. That all came later to us. You have questions, just ask. We like questions.