Oven heating element mounting & TMI

rgray

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
My latest project has been a heat treat oven.
There is a ton of good info out there and I studied it for quite some time.
I never really liked the elements in the grooves in the bricks...people talk of them shifting and having to staple them in...one guy went so far as to pin them in with porcelain rods.

Liking the porcelain rod idea..I went in search of them...My idea was to cross the top of the oven with the rod and have the element wound around it...they are kinda expensive and the site also had fused quartz tubes...they will take the heat and are quite cheap.

Not knowing if i would be able to cut and use the quartz (comes 48" lenghts) I ordered both porcelain rods and quartz tubes. Rods are 3/8 x 12"...quartz tubes I ordered are 1/2 x 48"

The quartz tube is easily cut with a diamond wheel. I turned it in my lathe in a collet and held a dremel with diamond wheel against it to cut it.
I did this same thing with the porcelain rod. it is much harder to cut, and eventually I ended up just scoring it and snaping it off to save on diamond wheels. If a nice end is not needed or perfect lenght it can be wraped in a paper towel, put in the vise and just snapped off.

My oven is 18 x 9 x 6.5 inside. So a full brick wide with side bricks standing on end. This leaves the top a full brick wide. I closed it in by pining bricks together with 2" lenghts of the 3/8 porcelain rod. 9" side to 4.5" side. Refactory cement was used between bricks also.

The quartz tubes are set into grooves in the top of the wall bricks. The elements are wound from 16ga kanthal. I did math till my head hurt figuring the elements out. I think I figured I needed 35 feet so I cut 37' to give some extra to double wind the end etc.

After testing and 2 heat treatings (4140 @ 1575 & W1 @ 1425) my elements measure 11 ohms.
I have a full 240 volts in the shop so pulling 22 amps and output is 5236 watts.