qctp ideas/suggestions

rambin

Registered
Registered
I have a little 10*24 Montgomery wards/logan that im slowly rebuilding.. right now it has the lantern style tool posts and the right/left and straight tools for it nothing more... I'd like to get a qctp and hoping someone can suggest a cheap set (I'd like to eventually have boring,threading,parting and knurling capabilities as well as just cutting. its just a hobby lathe for the garage I have very little knowledge of it right now all iknow is ive read that I need an axa size post... off shore would prbly be the answer... suggest away on what and where so I can have a look and decide which way to go

hmm there both pretty much about the same price.... shars would require adding postage. have to give it some thought. I assume any axa tool holder could be acquired to fit any axa post? hate to see what a domestic set would cost! ouch

I have a little 10*24 Montgomery wards/logan that im slowly rebuilding.. right now it has the lantern style tool posts and the right/left and straight tools for it nothing more... I'd like to get a qctp and hoping someone can suggest a cheap set (I'd like to eventually have boring,threading,parting and knurling capabilities as well as just cutting. its just a hobby lathe for the garage I have very little knowledge of it right now all iknow is ive read that I need an axa size post... off shore would prbly be the answer... suggest away on what and where so I can have a look and decide which way to go

As mentioned both Phase II and Shars make a decent QCTP. I have a Phase II AXA on a 10" lathe and a BXA on a 13" lathe. The AXA is the piston style, while the BXA is the wedge style. Both work great and are repeatable. Phase II is a bit more expensive than Shars. I have also purchased several tool holders for both from Shars.