Quick Change For 11-56 And Steady Rest

freebird914

Registered
Registered
Looking at quick changes and since I am new to all this ... I am looking at the AXA wedge... Shars ... Anyone have pictures of their quick change ... How much modification did you have to do ... Also steady rest how do you determine which steady rest to get size ??? Thanks all

FR,

If the 11-56 is an 11" swing machine, then AXA size is most likely what you want. It depends upon the vertical distance from the top of the compound slide to the spindle axis. The BXA size is too tall for most 12" machines so it would probably be too tall for an 11". The criteria is that when properly adjusted for height (cutter on center), the bottom of all of the tool holders should be at least slightly above the mounting surface on top of the compound. In other words, you want to be able to clamp down the tool post at any angle relative to the compound and anywhere on top of the compound.

Check the width of the T-slot on your compound against the diameter of the bolt or stud that attaches the tool post to the compound and make sure the bolt/stud will go into the slot. The one thing that you may have to make or modify is the T-nut for attaching the tool post to the compound. One usually comes with a set but it may or may not fit the T-slot on your compound. The only other modification that I've ever heard of was on all Atlas 10" compound slides. When the factory machined the compound slide casting to make the flats and T-slot, they only machined back far enough to clear the lantern tool post that was once standard on all lathes. The AXA TP is wider than the lantern one. And the corners of the AXA hit the surface where the factory quit machining. So people with these machines have to machine the flat farther back. On most machines, this isn't an issue.