Retrofitting The "famous" Tb6560 Cnc Board

petcnc

Active User
Registered
DECLARATION

I’m in no way an electronics expert and all modifications I have made to the board (and the rest of my machines) are based on research, common sense and experimentation.
I upload my modifications here for educational purposes only.
It is neither the best nor the only way to do things.
I adopt Jumps’4 statement: “The way I did it”.
On the other hand, if you wish to follow my mods, there is no guarantee that the board you have (or will buy) would be the same design as mine!

WARNING!
The modifications deal with electricity and machines that can cause fire, injury or death if you treat them carelessly!

MY APPROACH

The way I have dealt with the matter “CNC my machine” was (is) a slow one. It started years ago and has gone long way since. I’m a hobbyist and I enjoy doing things “driving in the slow lane” gaining knowledge and experience all the way.

There is a Greek poem named “Ithaka” that describes my approach:

When you set out for Ithaka ask that your way be long, full of adventure, full of instruction.
Your arrival there is what you are destined for.
But don't in the least hurry the journey.
Better it last for years,
so that when you reach the island you are old,
rich with all you have gained on the way,
not expecting Ithaka to give you wealth.
So wise you have become, of such experience,
that already you'll have understood what these Ithakas mean.
(Constantine P. Cavafy 1863-1933)​
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Aiming to CNC my Sieg Super X2 Plus solid column mill I started almost two years ago to buy parts from e-bay. The first think I bought was a TB6560 3 Axis CNC 3.5A Stepper Motor Driver Controller Board and three NEMA 23 motors 175 Oz/in, 2.8A, 2.5mH (marked as 57BYGH56-401A).