Setup Help For Absolute Beginner

thomseninc

Registered
Registered
You can't get any more "new guy" than me. I just joined the forum today, and I won't take delivery of my new tool until October. Already I have problems! Here goes:
My best friend passed away and his widow is giving me his Smithy 1324. It will get delivered to my workshop (i.e., my heated/cooled garage filled with woodworking tools) in October. In planning where to put it I have two options. One is along the wall, giving little access to the back side of the machine. The other is in the center of the workspace. The floor of the garage has a built in slope - about 6" over 20". How critical is leveling the machine? My woodworking tools are OK with the slope, but this is a new game for me. If I put it along the wall the left end will be about 1" high. If I put it in the middle of the shop (turned 90 deg) the front will be about .6" high. The stand it is currently on doesn't have leveling feet. The widow really wants me to take it. It also is not built to catch coolant. I can buy the stand that Smithy makes for the machine that has leveling feet and a coolant catching tray, but that means $$$. I need to have this figured out before the tool shows up in my driveway. Help!
BTW, I'm really glad to have joined this group. I'm sure to get a lot more out of it than I will ever contribute.
Kurt

Welcome to what is arguably the best, most friendly Hobby Machinist forum on the internet.

So long as it doesn't rock, there should be no problem working on a slant.

You can use leveling feet to make it level if desired, and can make the lathe higher if that gives you a better working height -- or just leave it on a slant resting on the floor. You can make the leveling feet on the machine, a good starter project. Flood coolant is pretty messy and has other issues as well. Save that decision for much farther down the road. Various cutting oils will do a good job for you without having provision for catching coolant.