Writing G Code - Newbie

slow-poke

Registered
Registered
I'm a newbie that recently added CNC capability to an old LC30A mill using Mach3. I have next to no experience other than typing in some simple G0, G1 etc. commands and cutting a few arcs using the Wizard feature. I'm not a machinist, just a guy that likes to tinker.

I now want to attempt machining a fairly simple irregular shaped piece. To start, I just want to cut the perimeter that would be a sequence of straight cuts and 6 arcs. I imagine the mill going around the perimeter several times cutting a bit deeper on each pass until the bit finally cuts through the bottom edge. I suppose I can run the arc wizard 6 times and copy the 6 code segments it generates to a new file and then insert the straight line cuts (G01) in the appropriate locations in the new file, so that the entire perimeter is defined.

Is there a better approach, perhaps with some form of (low cost or free) cad software, or is the method I described above a reasonable approach?

Thanks to all that reply.

Plate.png

When I first started playing with CNC I bought D2NC. As I recall it cost about $70. It doesn't have a lot of features like the high dollar programs but got the job done. I'm now using CamBam.

I downloaded a free 2.5D (2-axis with the Z-axis being manually controlled) CAD/CAM program called "Techne CAD-CAM". Frankly, I haven't used it much since my Anilam Crusader II has an RS-232 problem so I can't talk to the box with a laptop. Google says they have a 3D version also. A lot of guys here use Fusion 360 which is free (?).

For DNC, my intent was to use a free download of "Cadem NC". However, the problem with my Anilam has me programming in just conversational mode. Wish I could help more, but I entered the CNC realm about 2 months ago and hope to progress to just the beginner status soon.

Bruce