1 Million + 1

Damn Yankee

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
That's how many times a post like this has been posted?

Hi All, can we talk lathe? If I had my way, I would have a very heavy (rigid) and powerful lathe. But, I have no way to move it - only an engine hoist. A few months ago, I wanted a full-sized knee milling machine, but had to settle on a 7 x 27 tabletop. It sits on a toolbox inside the house. Unless the lathe is a tabletop (12 x 30), it must go in the garage which is already an auto shop, wood shop, and welding shop - each complete. It is also a garage when no projects are happening. I get away with this because it is a 3-car garage housing only two cars and all large equipment are on wheels.

Being a Newb, I quickly learned the limitations of an underpowered and no-mass machine. I currently have a project that really requires a lathe, but I can use my rotary table and do the lathe part but at 6 times the time and effort :rolleyes:. So now, I am obsessed with buying a lathe.

I do no commercial stuff, only hobby stuff. Yes, it might be mild steel and I don't expect titanium... Size-wise, I think I probably would be content with a 30" bed but 36" would be better. And if I could move it, a 14 x 40 would be a dream.

Considering, I am already mill constrained, what would you do? If the consensus is a full-sized lathe, what is the max spindle speed I should be interested in? What is the advantage of a gearhead, and if I do that, should I go 3-phase with a VFD for full speed control?

John

If the issue is no way to move it, know this: I and lots of others have moved and positioned lots of quality equipment with a Harbor freight hoist. I moved my 2500 lb. Takisawa, a 14x30 lathe with ease, same with a Jet VBS-900 bandsaw, same with A Kalamazoo 9x16 horizontal saw. A drop bed trailer makes it all ”easy”.