10d Babbit Bearings

lakebom184

Registered
Registered
Recently obtained an early Atlas 10 D, babbit bearings, removable bearing caps, 5/8 lead screw. Lathe had grease fittings rather than oilers which I.m told is a severe no-no. Finally had time to look Removed bearing caps, Left had lube & bras shim, right dry, no shim, spindle somewhat ugly and the bearing had a small hole in the center. Assuming the bearings can't be replaced like shell bearings Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new at this

Hi lakebom,
i'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news,
i'm no expert on the subject, but....
babbitt bearings are poured in place, then finished to size by line boring and/or scraping
conceivably, you could do it- but it would take extensive measurement and some accurate setup to hope to attain any breath of accuracy in the finished work.
i don't wish to discourage you from doing it,
but being your first time at it, just know you'll need to bring your lunch if you do decide to do it

Welcome! If the bearings are not cracked and or loose. I would just put it back together. Adjusting the clearance as best you can with shims and or shortening the bearing caps. AND PAY EXTRA SPECIAL ATTENTION TO THE END SHAKE ADJUSTMENT! You do not want 0 end shake because then the spindle would not turn around. But you want it as close to 0 as possible with the spindle turning freely. Any more play than that and you will have chatter problems. Yes, all of this bearing adjustment can affect the alignment of the spindle to the tailstock. But you are probably going to have to live with it…Good Luck, Dave.