10ee VFD Conversion

Having read a ton of the commentary on the lathe, I'm not sure why anyone puts a 7 or 10 hp motor in this machine. Of course I'm just a hobbyist, so I'm not all that aggressive. However, I've yet to stall the lathe when machining something. It just keeps turning. 5 hp seems a good compromise especially with the back gear.

Best of luck with your lathe.
I could be wrong but it seems like mine had a 3hp motor in it. It was a 1952 MG machine. Used it for about 5 years and the only problem I had was a burned coil. Smooth running machine.

Reactions: Z2V
I could be wrong but it seems like mine had a 3hp motor in it. It was a 1952 MG machine. Used it for about 5 years and the only problem I had was a burned coil. Smooth running machine.
Yeah...my thoughts exactly. Maybe they are going big without the backgear??? IDK

Yeah...my thoughts exactly. Maybe they are going big without the backgear??? IDK

Well, its all about torque, not HP. The original 10EE drive developed way more torque at low speed than a comparable 3 phase motor. The electrics on these old machines are impressive. Hence the need to go bigger with 3 phase/VFD over the 10EE DC drive.

Now, eliminating the backgear is a huge torque problem as it gives a 6:1 advantage. Even with doubling the size of the 3 phase motor, there is still a considerable disadvantage without the back gear.

Now, there is room for discussion on how much torque you really need. If you want to take heavy cuts on ten inch diameter tool steel parts, the maximum torque is needed. Don't do this sort of work, then a bit smaller drive is fine.