1952-53 10

Cfurnitureguy

Registered
Registered
Lets try this again;)
This is my new South Bend 10" Tool Room Lathe (1952-53)
Serial No. 4236RKL11
Model No. CL8187A
4ft. Bed
Came with a 3phase 3/4 hp motor but i am swithching it to single phase 1hp

This is what it looked like the day i brought it home! Since it was produced in 1952-53 it appears to have been painted about 3-4 times... the last being the pale green, which obviously didnt hold up too welll! My plan is to tear the lathe down section by section and completely strip it and restore the lathe and make it shine again. wish me luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
The first thing I did when i got the lathe home was to break it down into its major assemblies. I am starting my restoration from the ground up... Just a side note: this is my first lathe restoration so i dont know how many posts i will have that will be a "professional" "how to" because this is my first time.. but at least i can show you my progress and hopefully if there are any questions on anything i did i can show you more pics or answer with more info!

So here is the progression of the base... first pics show what it looked like when i got it home! you can see the layers of paint, grease and oils. After removing the doors, countershaft assembly and motor the entire base was stripped inside and out. I use CitruStrip to remove all the paint, filler and grease. It is my new favorite product!!! purchased at Home Depot.

The inside of the base was then painted with 3 coats of Sherwin Williams Industrial enamel (Iron Ore gray)... next i moved on to the outside of the base. The outside was also stripped with the CitrusStrip down to the bare metal.

View attachment 30950 View attachment 30951 View attachment 30952 View attachment 30953