6061 + Carbid Help

spartan2381

Registered
Registered
First let me start by saying I'm new to this and fumbling my way around. I have some 6061T6 bar stock and I'm trying to get a good finish on it with carbide inserts. I'm not sure where to start with spindle speed, power feed rates and insert selection. I have tried various spindle speeds from 460 up to 2,000 rpms. The carbide inserts are the silver ones that come in the precision matches set (CCMT/CCGT 300 Series). I have also picked a few inserts from Shars. Any help on speeds, feed rates and insert selection would be greatly appreciated.

Inserts from Shars:
  1. CCMT 32.51 EF YBG202 - https://www.shars.com/ccmt-32-51-ef-ybg202
  2. DCMT 32.51 EF YBG202 - https://www.shars.com/dcmt-32-51-ef-ybg202
  3. WCMX 32.51- https://www.shars.com/wcmx-32-51-carbide-insert

Toolset from Precision Mathews:
precisionmatthews.png

6061 Finish:
IMG_0268.jpeg

Power Feed Chart:
IMG_0270.jpeg

That's a lot of stick out, are you using a live center? The rule of thumb is no more than 3x the diameter without outboard support.

That's a lot of stick out, are you using a live center? The rule of thumb is no more than 3x the diameter without outboard support.
Yes, I'm using a live center. The diameter of the stock was too large to go through the headstock so I was turning it down.

Depth of cut is important to getting a good finish with carbide. Too shallow is often the issue, try to take at least .020”. Feed rate anywhere around .002-.004. SFPM around 300 or more. These are off the cuff numbers, there are better references available. Also, I started with Shars inserts and found a significant improvement going to name brand inserts.

@davidpbest on this site has a book on carbide inserts for the lathe which I recommend.Searching this site for lathe finish or similar will turn up extensive posts with lots of suggestions.

What Rabbler said.