618 auto feed question

Alanv

Registered
Registered
Ok I am very new to machining, i bought a atlas 618 lathe and have been messing around making some small parts, anyway my auto feed will not stay engaged, not sure if there is something that is supposed to keep it engaged or just the gear mesh keeps it engaged. I can hold down on the banjo? Not sure if that is the correct name or not and it will work, thumb gets tired though, any info would be appreciated, if there is a better way to explain let me know. Thanks

Im definatly not the one to give advise, as Im new at this too. But my 101 has a problem with the auto feed as in certian places it wont stay feeding. I had posted pics of my half nut and the guys here said it looked worn, so I got a new one today. Hopfully this will fix my problem, and give you something to look at on yours.

Alanv,

There is a detent spring and ball that operate on the M6-38 Cam. Download the 618 manual and look on page 11. Possibly someone had it apart and lost one or both parts.

Aside from those parts being missing, any time that you have trouble engaging the half nuts or in them staying engaged, besides wear on the half nuts, the other thing to check for is the vertical location of the lead screw. If the lead screw lifts or drops when you engage the half nuts, the bearings at one end or the other need adjustment. To adjust, move the carriage to the tailstock end of the bed. Loosen the two cap screws holding the bearing. Engage the half nuts (you may have to rock the carriage back or forth to do this). Tighten the cap screws. Move the carriage to the headstock end of the bed. Remove the Change Gear Bracket Assembly. Loosen the two cap screws holding the bearing and engage the half nuts. Tighten the cap screws. Reinstall the Change Gear Bracket Assembly.