80% Lower Legal Question

Jake P

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Perhaps someone here can help me find an answer to the following:

Is it legal to assist another person in the completion of an 80% lower?

Situation: My daughter’s boyfriend asked if I could help him machine an 80% lower. We are both residents of and in the state of Idaho and he is of legal age. I am a hobby machinist not engaged in commercial shop work.

When he asked me to help him my immediate response was "Sure!", but then I started wondering about the legality of it. Searching the internet I found the following article: https://gunfightertactical.com/atf-shuts-down-completion-of-80-lowers/

In that article is the following statement: "It is also illegal for a private individual to complete an 80% in their friend or neighbor’s garage using using the friend’s equipment."

The article references the following from the ATF: https://www.atf.gov/firearms/docs/ruling/2015-1-manufacturing-and-gunsmithing/download

I have read that ATF document and to my understanding the statement made in the article I linked to is not accurate. It seems to me that this only applies to individuals who are in the business of manufacturing.

So, what is the opinion/knowledge of those of you here who have experience in these matters? Thanks for you input folks, I just want to stay out of trouble!

I have no knowledge, but that just seems like too deep an over reach.
if you help, I understand the problem.
But if they borrow your equip and do their own work in your garage, or if you were to deliver your equip to their garage ... what's the diff. So you own the equip.. but it's in their garage. Many companies lease equip.. does that mean they can't do things (in general)?

Just seems like the ATF is interpreting something in a very odd way, or making it up.