820 countershaft repair

John TV

Registered
Registered
I could use some advice on what people think is the best way to repair my counter-shaft casting.

I had a chance to disassemble my Logan 820 countershaft that had significant wear. I was hoping to see bushings that could be replaced but on my model, the ¾ inch shaft runs directly in the cast iron casting.

I am still quite new to this hobby and my skills are getting better but still limited. I have another Logan 10” lathe to use and a Van Norman 12 Milling machine and other small equipment to attempt repair.

The ¾ inch shaft is badly worn and can easily be replaced. I was thinking that drill rod might be a good shaft material since it is quite accurately sized and strong. If you have other suggestions please let me know what you think.

The casting however is a larger problem for me. The “non pully” end is still quite close to the shaft diameter and seems quite round when looking at it without measuring.

The pulley side of the casting, however, is very wallowed out with a very visible oval wear pattern with the oval shape being drawn down in the direction of the motor, possibly caused by excessive belt tension and little lubrication. Pictures are below, but crude measurements are almost 1/8 inch of wear in casting.

Now how to repair this? My first thoughts are to bore the holes to a larger size and use bronze bushings of the correct size. The only machined surfaces on the casting are the areas where the holes have been bored. How do I set up the casting to allow boring accurately without line boring capability? Secondly, although the castings are quite thick, a busing large enough to take care of the 1/8 inch wallow would need to be around one inch which doesn’t leave a lot of cast iron remaining for strength. How little is acceptable.