9X20 Chuck

Zeb123

Registered
Registered
When I bought my lathe, all I got was the 4" 3 jaw chuck with on set of jaws. I am thinking of buying a 4 jaw independent jaw chuck. Would a 6" be too big? The manual says that a 71/4" 4 jaw chuck came with the lathe but I cannot seem to find one on line. Also any suggestions on brands would be nice as I am a noob.
Thanks

Zeb, a rough rule of thumb is to use a chuck about half the swing of the lathe. A 4 - 5" chuck would be about right. A big chuck doesn't give you much more capacity and it weighs more.

another problem with a big chuck on a relatively small swing,
the stick out of the jaws when turning sizable work and trying to grip the od of the part.
if the jaws stick out too far, there is potential for collision with the ways :eek:

Here is something from Logan Actuator on their Logan lathes: http://www.lathe.com/faq/#_Toc95180284

What is the right size chuck for this lathe?
2.13.. Logan supplied a 5” 3-jaw chuck and a 6” 4-jaw chuck for their 10” lathes. Logan supplied a 6” 3-jaw chuck and a 6” 4-jaw chuck for their 11” lathes. Larger chucks were available, but they are impractical on these lathes because the jaws would hit the bed when the chucks were opened. Larger chucks are also heavier, so they put a strain on the spindle and spindle bearings. In general, use the smallest possible quality chuck for the job.

Your choice, of course, but I use a 6", 3 jaw and a 6.5", 4 jaw on my Emco 11" lathe. I can use the jaws up to their safe maximum extension without hitting anything.

Aside from the jaws hitting the bed ways (what good is a chuck if you can't use it with the jaws opened up all the way), I like having my primary chuck smaller. Spins up & down fast, less weight to lug around.