Adjust-Tru Bison

I was looking at this recently myself. I bought a Bison 5C Set-Tru at Ajax. At the time I found their prices to be pretty competitive on new.

The 6"-6J Gator works out to 1195 USD including D1-4 Adjust-Tru backplate

The Bison 6"-6J forged Set-Tru is 1635 USD including back plate as combo
If you buy the chuck (7-868-0600) and backplate (7-875-063) separately it works out to 1294+364=1658

A bump from the way back machine. I have a (new to me) Cazeneuve HBX 360 with a chinese 3 jaw on it that I would like to replace. I have a Super Spacer with an 8" Bison 3 jaw that won't fit due to the backing plate. The fix I think will be to mill a new backing plate.

Anyway, as a new member here I was reading through threads and trying to pick up knowledge as I'm new to machining, and as I was reading through this thread I thought I would click on the links in the above post. What I found interesting is that the Gator chuck is still $1195 and the Bison is now $2165!
I thought it interesting the increase in price and not the other.........but maybe I'm missing something.

I forgot I posted that when I was evaluating the two brands. Interesting about the current price discrepancy. It appears the Gator includes the backplate in the price in the title description & drop down so it doesn't look like a typo. Best to call & confirm but I have also noticed Bison price creep as well. Once upon a time they used to be a good quality, half price alternative to higher end brands but times have changed. I have 5" 2-part jaw Gator chucks. Overall I would say 90% of Bison quality but most of that is finish. TIR is comparable & jaws fit well in the slots. The scroll wasn't quite as smooth but not horrible, being picky here. I've also heard its a moving target with them depending on when you purchased. QC kind of went up & down & up again. But seems like many Asian chuck makers are up-ing their game so maybe there is hope (and performance pressure).