Advice for collet chucks - G0602

gun410

Registered
Registered
Hello, I'm new to the thread and also semi new to machining. About a month ago i bought a G0602 new from grizzly since then i have accumulated a decent amount of tooling but I still only have the stock 3 and 4 jaw chucks. I looked at 6 jaw chucks but they are expensive and a collet chuck seems like it would be pretty nice to have. My lathe still isnt leveled and the tailstock isn't aligned but that because my setup is the lathe sitting on a tool cabinet with roller wheels so there isn't a point of leveling because the lathe moves on the rollers and the leveling would constantly get thrown off ( don't have a machinist level either). So the chucks im looking at is the 5c collet chuck or a er40 chuck. I'm leaning towards the 5c chuck but I'm looking for advice.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/ER40-5-SET...dj-0-0005-TIR-1-3-4-8-Back-Plate/333062311281

These are the 2 ones i have found with a threaded backing plate fitting my lathe (1 3/4-8).

I have the Shars ER40 chuck + backplate which is what you linked to. I was able to get the chuck to about 0.0003" run out and use it often. If you go with the Shars you will have to do some minor clean-up. The collet nut threads were rough out of the box. Some light emery and a small triangular file cleaned it up perfect. I'd recommend ditching the included collet nut and buying a ball bearing style nut instead.

You'll get debate about which one is better. They both hold round bits and have pros/cons. From what I've gathered:
  • ER40 collets have a wider range (per collet) thus fewer collets needed over a given range. A bit more time to change because no quick closure mechanism. I read somewhere that ER40 clamps on the entire length more evenly due to geometry and being slit from both sides, but take that with a grain of salt.