Advice needed on buying a new or used Tormach CNC Mill

simspace

Registered
Registered
I am dipping my toes in the waters of machining as a part-time gig. My focus for now will be small jobs from Xometry. I know people have strong opinions about Xometry, but it's the decision I've made that's best for me and my current goals.

If you were starting a small, one-person, side-gig CNC machining business in your garage, what machine would you choose? Please keep in mind that my budget is somewhere in the $16k range.

My options are :
- A new PCNC 440 with some extras.
- A new 770M with very limited extras.
- A used PCNC 1100 with lots of extras, for a great price that is pushing my budget a little, but well below $20k. Below is a list of what comes with the used PCNC 1100.

Here's a little about me. I'm a tech nerd. I'm in my 36th year as software engineer. I love Fusion 360. I'm finishing off a Fusion 360 deep-dive course. In October, I head to Saunders Machine Works (DIY CNC) for his Hands On CNC Machining Training Class. I already own and work on a manual lathe and milling machine.

Thanks!
Chris

296032545-10166508355260301-8351661205782758846-n.jpg

Last edited:
Unless you really need a small machine to fit in a small space, I would look at a full sized Bridgeport or clone. Really not much different footprint than the Tormach PCNC 1100, but twice the machine.

If I were in your area I would already have this machine sitting in my shop.
https://grandrapids.craigslist.org/tls/d/grand-rapids-cnc-mill-retrofit-ready/7511309199.html Can be operated manually as well as a CNC. There are quite a number of these types of machines on eBay. I have one of these and if I could only have one mill in my shop this type of machine would be my first choice.