Advice on Monarch 10EE and Bridgeport Series 1 acquisition

Macca

Registered
Registered
Hello all,

I recently have been offered a Monarch Lathe and a Bridgeport Mill if I am interested in them. I want to preface that i am quite new to the machining world and am trying to learn more.

So my questions are: Where do i start? Ive done some research on forums over these respective machines, and have a general idea. But where do i start to "diagnose" these machines to see what condition they are in? Are they worth bringing home if they need fixing? The issue i believe i have is that these run off 3-phase (the Lathe is a M-G drive) and i do not have 3-phase currently. Will i be able to get a rough idea about the machines before i invest in getting 3-phase? (I think i am planning on buying a rotary phase converter).

Any advice is appreciated, i would love to get these machines home, but am wary on the condition and what they would take to get running with my lack of experience working on lathes or mills.

-David

The Monarch is the Cadillac of lathes. With the MG set, it is likely the older round dial. The square dials, newer, also had MG set for a few years. like all old machines, condition is everything. in this case, make sure its complete, parts have gold plated pricing. The drive can be difficult to repair and parts are hard to find. many, including myself, have upgraded to a VFD and 3 phase motor. This can run off of single phase.

Series 1 bridgeport is likely a 60s or newer machine. Highly sought after, and a very nice unit. parts are easy to find. Again, condition is everything on old machines. Here, use a rotary phase converter or upgrade it to VFD control.

As to condition, if they are not under power, its a pig'n'poke. Look for broken or missing parts. turn all the handles and see if they move smooth and easy. i also consider the seller - if its a jockey - buyer beware. if its grandpa that has owned them for years - buy it now.

Last edited: