Advice on training

vincent52100

Registered
Registered
Hi all. I'd like to know if there are any self taught machinists out there. About myself: 67 years old with a background in mechanics (motorcycle and construction equipment, never cared that much for cars) I'm retired and my hobby is motorcycles, the older the better. I would like to be able to make some parts, foot peg brackets, exhaust brackets, different types of mounts etc. I had a small mini lathe that I used to make bushings and spacers. I would like to move up to some things that are a little more complicated. Equipment: I just purchased a Logan 10 x 24 with a grinding attachment, boring bar, collets, taper attachment, tooling etc. I'm going to purchase a milling machine, something like a G0704. I'm very mechanically inclined I think), Is this something I could teach myself? Thanks

Hi all. I'd like to know if there are any self taught machinists out there. About myself: 67 years old with a background in mechanics (motorcycle and construction equipment, never cared that much for cars) I'm retired and my hobby is motorcycles, the older the better. I would like to be able to make some parts, foot peg brackets, exhaust brackets, different types of mounts etc. I had a small mini lathe that I used to make bushings and spacers. I would like to move up to some things that are a little more complicated. Equipment: I just purchased a Logan 10 x 24 with a grinding attachment, boring bar, collets, taper attachment, tooling etc. I'm going to purchase a milling machine, something like a G0704. I'm very mechanically inclined I think), Is this something I could teach myself? Thanks

You can teach yourself anything as long as you have enough brains, patience, self-discipline, and time.