Aloris BXA-19 knurling tool

Defender92

Registered
Registered
Full disclaimer… I’m a big machining amateur.

I was excited to receive my BXA-19 from eBay today. I had previous “success” in the past on my Atlas 12” with an Amazon scissor knurling tool.

I quickly slapped it on my lathe. Lined it up good enough and had at it. It was doing ok for a while then it got jammed up. I noticed one of the suppled knurls (Accu Trak 25 TPI) had a chip. That was there before I started.

When I say jammed up it slightly moved the QCTP, started smoking and destroyed the knurling it was making.

So I took the knurls out and put in some Chinese made knurls. Again, ran ok but then jammed up.

What’s my most likely problem here? I haven’t yet leveled my lathe. I’m pretty sure it needs adjustment. The BXA-19 appears fully functional without anything broken or missing. I’m really hoping I didn’t just waste $200 on a broken BXA-19.

My gut tells me my bed isn’t straight because it’s not leveled. That’s why it will go about 2-3 inches fine then it fails. My second guess is I’m just doing something wrong.

I did order two new sets of knurls and a replacement screw from Aloris. While I’m waiting for those to arrive I should probably research the proper way to do knurling.

I also had to set my compound up in a 90 degree angle. It was the only way I could use the BXA-19 on my lathe. I can’t find a user manual for the BXA-19. Can any one help me?

52E7C0AB-B5A4-4934-BD12-4227D657AD15.jpeg
42689883-BCBA-44E0-A02C-E4E029FBBADB.jpeg
16966FE3-4FAF-4B83-9453-2EC076CD9275.jpeg
DAB609ED-677E-420D-B0E1-54E0943FB7D7.jpeg
845314FA-F067-4A24-86B8-D129DC74F3F2.jpeg
78CFFF3E-0F05-451E-8250-11A8E63B0366.jpeg
AEE4D63A-FB5A-4EC8-A4CE-E1DC334CC9C5.jpeg
A6EF186F-8044-4A35-8EA8-86E3AE73572C.jpeg
15504079-AF00-436C-B752-AA747C3686A6.jpeg

Attachments

• 41D935BB-42EF-4B41-90EE-880645BAC081.jpeg
    41D935BB-42EF-4B41-90EE-880645BAC081.jpeg
    408.3 KB · Views: 7
Last edited: