American Pacemaker -- learning to scrape V-ways for alignment . . .

Archie Cheda

Registered
Registered
After a four-year project scraping the ways (& otherwise restoring) a 100-year-old Lucas horizontal boring mill (HBM) for the Machine Shop Museum at Tuckahoe, I am now undertaking a similar job on my own 14x54 American Pacemaker -- it is only 66 years old. I thought that the techniques necessary to get both alignment and bearing would be of interest to the readers of this sub-forum. (I am currently discussing the overall project on "another forum", but there are details I am leaving out that might be of interest to folks here.)

pm00.jpg

First -- I am not an expert or highly-experienced scraper, but I have been in shops all my life and I am as old as my lathe. I taught manufacturing engineering for twenty years and feel strongly that much of working in a shop is related to having a good mix of experience and theory -- understanding both the "how" and the "why". I am not an efficient scraper, but my experience on the Lucas has given me confidence that I am in control of what I am doing, even if I am slow. Below I am using a Biax power scraper, but for me at the present, alternating hand-scraping with power scraping seems to work best -- both for saving my muscles and for maintaing control on those narrow V-way surfaces:

pm01.jpg

In order to spot and scrape on a horizontal surface during the many hours of rough scraping, I welded up a sturdy table to support the heavy lathe bed:

pm02.jpg

It has two adjustable legs for leveling and can be picked up and moved around loaded using a pallet jack. I will be doing the finish scraping with the lathe bed supported in its normal position. In the center of the pic you can see a jack that allows me to take any twist the bed takes on in this position. I measure the twist using this Starrett level which has been mounted on a B&S magnetic surface gage:

pm03.jpg