Another beginner's mistake

twooldvolvos

Registered
Registered
I have been working on the slightly painful task of getting together some tooling for my new-to-me lathe. Not painful in searching for the tools, just painful in paying for them. Ha. Ha.

Anyway, here is my latest bad news good news story. I finally purchased a magnetic indicator stand with a plunger-style indicator. That is the good news. So I decided that I should check how tight my old lathe is. I set up the indicator on my 3 jaw. Much to my dismay, I was getting 5 thousandths deflection forward and back by just pushing and pulling with my hands.

chuckRunOut.JPG

Mind you that I am a green amateur with no one live in person to talk to about my hobby. So now I'm thinking that my spindle bearing must be loose. That's the bad news. 10 thousandths movement just by hand sounds way loose to me. So after a dog walking break I came back to my lathe and started thinking a bit. I grabbed my tail stock and gave it a push and dang. The indicator moved 5 thousandths. Then it hit me. Have you old timers figured it out yet? I had my magnetic base stuck to the chip tray. I was measuring deflection of the tray to the lathe. So I stuck the indicator base to my ways and magically, it only moved about 1 thousandth when I spun, pushed and pulled on my chuck. Back to good news. Looks like its pretty tight after all.

Beginner's mistakes - you are not the only one. Raises hand, bashfully. Fortunately, you found your error before doing anything drastic.

Made a little adapter plate to hold a small accelerometer to a small but differently shaped arduino board. Eventually this will be a datalogging orientation sensor. Made a drawing, even entered into a 2D cad program. Spent the morning fiddling around making the plate. Drilled the holes. Deburred everything. Brought the plate upstairs for fitting.