Another PM1340GT

jlchapman

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi,
I'm new to the Precision Matthew forum but not new to Hobby-Machinist. I'm a hobby machinist and gearhead. I just lately sold my Central Machinery 12x36 and moving on to much better equipment. This is not my first Precision Matthews product, I have owned a PM950 Mill for about 8 months and its been great.

Well Matt had another shipment of PM1340GT lathes arrive and one of them has my name on it. Of course after reading all the excellent things MKSJ has been doing with VFD's and the PM1340GT, I bought the 3-phase version. I'm sure some questions will come up. ZMotorsports has also been a great influence in the purchase of the lathe and his modifications and enhancements.

So now I have to decide which path to go down on implementing the VFD. Time will tell.

Jerry

I initially did my own VFD wiring job on my 1340GT because I wanted the darn thing up and running! :)

Worked fine, but after a year or so I contacted Mark and he put together a nice setup for me with three braking stages and the micrometer stop. Mark does really, really good work.

Oh, and welcome to the family. There are a number of 1340GT owners here, with more coming in all the time. :)

Thanks wrmiller and zmotorsports! I have already borrowed some ideas from Mike's setup and created my tool holders on the unistrut. Nice to have some of that ready to go when the lathe gets here. My last lathe had a ton of drawers, so just have to plan smarter on this one.

I'm having Mark do the control system for my new lathe. The carriage micrometer stop has been shipped to Mark. So if all the planets line up, should have a lathe arrive and the control system too! Big Kudo's to Mark for taking the time to build the control system!

Jerry

Thanks Bill and Jerry for the positive comments.