Anyone do any archery projects?

yugami

Active User
Registered
I took up archery last fall and I just made a short stabilizer which was fun but nothing too challenging (couple chunks of aluminum turned to fit a carbon tube and glued).

However I just started shooting Olympic style and I'm going to need a sight. These things are pretty expensive for something that doesn't break during use.

Here is a good design - http://www.lancasterarchery.com/sure-locr-quest-x-recurve-target-sight.html

Typically the adjustments have positive clicks for each small part of a turn.

I was wondering if anyone else has ever given this a go.

I took up archery last fall and I just made a short stabilizer which was fun but nothing too challenging (couple chunks of aluminum turned to fit a carbon tube and glued).
However I just started shooting Olympic style and I'm going to need a sight. These things are pretty expensive for something that doesn't break during use.
Here is a good design - http://www.lancasterarchery.com/sure-locr-quest-x-recurve-target-sight.html
Typically the adjustments have positive clicks for each small part of a turn.
I was wondering if anyone else has ever given this a go.

Holy smokes... That looks like a pain in the butt to make. -Don't tell anyone I said this but, I'd pay the 349 bucks and save myself a lot of hassle... :)

Ray

I was a professional archer and I was sponsered by a couple different bow companys. Unless you are extremely experianced just buy the sight. Each click on those sights on some are a couple thou of an inch. There is no way you are going to make a compitition sight in a hobby shop. There is alot more engineering in that sight than you think. If you want to become a pro archer you are going to have to pay the $350.00 for the sight and another $200 for the scope set up. I shoot a Sureloc pro sight and I have $750.00 in just the sight.
:nono: