Ar15 Lower: Jumping In

n3480h

Active User
Registered
Finally got one of my 0% forged lower castings on the mini-mill. Fixture plates were first machined with Ray Brandes' tutorial, and they have worked well. The mill is a HF to which I have added iGaging 3 axis DRO units. Being a cheapskate, I resisted buying a 1" center cutting mill for the 3/4" radius at the rear of the casting, choosing instead to set up a small flycutter (LMS 3 piece kit) and making test cuts until the correct radius was achieved. Tedious work, but I am amazed at the very good finish this tool made as it was eased through plunge cuts until the final coordinate was reached. Driver side holes were spotted and drilled yesterday. Being a rank amateur, I would hate to attempt this project without the Brandes guidance and the little iGaging DRO. As it is, this is great fun and very educational.Lower milling2.jpg Milling lower.jpg Tom

Please keep posting as you progress. I'm very interested in this project.

When you do these I found that I used one spot for the zero point and all measurements go from there. If you keep your DRO numbers recorded for future work you will find it gets easier. I put all measurements on 4x6 cards. If you get a copy of lower receiver blueprint off the internet and have it blown up to about 16x20 size you will find it will go much easier. Take you time and really think it out on every move when you get to cutting out the mag housing and trigger group pocket. Good luck you will find that you will learn quite a bit.

Looks like fun, I'd love to do one but unfortunately, I live in a state where I'd be facing the rest of my days in the slammer for such activities...