[4]

Arbors and Hole Saws for Tube Notching?

erikmannie

Registered
One of the main reasons that I bought my benchtop mill is to notch tubing. The first tubing that I have to notch is 1 1/4” inch diameter with .050” wall. You may know it as muffler tubing.

I am new to milling, and I imagine that I will buy an 1 1/4” holesaw. I have R8 collets for my PM-25MV milling machine. I haven’t bought a chuck yet because PM was out of stock for the chuck I wanted.

When I was in school, the instructor used a hole saw that he attached to an arbor. At school, they used a Bridgeport. It was a bicycle frame building school, and the students were not allowed to touch the mill.

All of the hole saws that I see online are for use with a hand drill (3/8” shank). Many hole saws online are bi-metal HSS.

Does anybody know of a product that could notch thin wall tubing with a mill? What kind of arbor will I use? I want it to be thicker than 3/8”.

erikmannie

Registered
It looks like I will have to tilt the head 60 degrees because the clamp in the V-block would interfere with the cutting tool if I put the workpiece at a 60 degree angle in the vise. At the school, they were constantly tilting the head back and forth to different angles.

It is painful to see that rusty tubing clamped onto the new V-blocks. When I make the cuts, I will clean the tubing.

IMG_6798.JPGIMG_6799.JPG

erikmannie

Registered
Here is the hole saw which uses a 3/8" arbor. I am not sure if 3/8" is rigid enough.
IMG_6800.JPG

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I have seen an R-8 arbor that screws directly into the hole saw; it may have been home made.

eugene13

H-M Supporter - Gold Member