Are these listings with a fair price?

mafiaazul

Registered
Registered
Hi guys,

Just to be clear.... I really don't know anything about lathes, but I'm interested in getting to know more about them. I have a reasonable amount of woodworking tools and I'm trying to expand the collections to metal tools as well.

I saw these two posts on my local (des moines) craiglist:

/tls/d/ankeny-logan-metal-lathe/7016326007.html
/tls/d/des-moines-south-bend-lathe/7036103283.html

Are they priced accordingly? Are these lathes a good "starting" lathe for beginner?

Any suggestion is really appreciated.

Thanks.

Can you post the full links?

Edit: here’s the links.

Note that the SB price was originally $200 more than this listing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
I tried posting the full links but it wouldn’t let me. So, are the prices fair?

I tried posting the full links but it wouldn’t let me. So, are the prices fair?

I'm no expert so take this with a grain of salt.
The South Bend doesn't have a quick change gearbox which is something I would want. It's a late 1940's model.
Tooling looks to be not too bad, definitely needs some TLC.
If the bed ways are in decent condition with minimal wear then it's probably in the ball park for price.

I can't comment much on the Logan as I have no experience with looking at them. But at first glance I'd say it's the more desirable machine based on the fact that it has a gearbox, it's a 10" swing vs 9' for the South Bend and it's a heavier machine (heavier tends to = more rigid)

It really depends on what kind of work you want to do.

Last edited:
I had a Logan 820 a few years back and I believe I got around $1400. for it, but it included quite a bit of tooling. The Southbend has more accessories but does not have the quick change gear box. If I were looking to buy a lathe I would buy the Logan at that price. Just my $0.20 worth.
Dave