Atlas 101 Tool Source

Sundossa12

Active User
Registered
What would be a good source of tools to get started on this Lathe. Im a new operator and only have the lathe and verticle milling attachment. I would like to get a set of tools to part, edge and knurl. Not looking for top of the line, just a set to get me started. Ive looked on Ebay and did a search on line, but Im overwhelmed with the diferent type and dont know where to start. Thanks

Hopefully some of the atlas owners will weigh in. The atlas machines are not incredibly rigid nor fast so the tooling used on other machines of the same class are not necessarily the best fit. Inserts are mostly out but you may find brazed carbide to be OK. Grind some HSS tools and enjoy. For knurling you will need some kind of knurler where the piece is squeezed between the wheels like the camjack, or scissor/straddle type knurler .

Steve

sundossa12,

You say your machine is an "Atlas 101" so I assume that it was sold by Sears. But is it a 6" or a 12". Or what is the complete model number?

Robert D.