Atlas lathe questions

emorain

Registered
Registered
Hey everyone. So I am new to machining and picked up an Atlas 10 x 36 lathe. I have some questions mostly about getting it up and going. In the picture is what I have a back plate? Can i just bolt a chuck up to it?
It looks like the plate is 6 inch diameter. Do I buy a 6 inch chuck?
Secondly is this lathe considered a mini lathe? When shopping for chucks and other parts I see mini lathe as a category.
So on this carriage can i put a quick change tool post and would an OXA. Be the right one?
Thanks ahead of time. The lathe came with nothing other than a full set of gears.
Thanks for the help the lathe came with nothing other than a full set if gears

Attachments

• 20191020_120822_HDR.jpg
    20191020_120822_HDR.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 62
I believe that is considered a dog drive face plate not a back plate for a chuck.
Basically a 5" chuck would handle almost 10" (probably closer to 9.5")of work holding before before its opened jaws or work come into contact with the ways even less space over the carriage. I would probably go with a 6" chuck if it were me.
I wouldnt consider that a mini lathe, more a small home Hobbyist lathe I guess!
AXA is the size qctp you want and for the price I would recommend looking at a Bolstar AXA kit for around $140ish.

Last edited:
Thank you. So i need to buy a backplate and chuck combo that will go onto this spindle. Thank you for the suggestions.
I am going to tear this one down and just clean oil etc. It looks to be pretty well taken care of.

I don't know a lot about Atlases specifically, but I think I can answer some of your questions.

It looks like it has a faceplace attached. That is not for a chuck, a faceplate is used in place of a chuck to hold your work. These days it would mostly be used with odd shaped pieces that won't fit in a chuck or collets.