Atlas Mhc Mill Rabbit Hole

Greg A

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting and I must say I am enjoying reading all the other posts and seeing how helpful everyone is. It is great to see such a supportive community.

So I recently bought a MHC mill serial # 008792 for $250.00. I have no real experience with this particular machine but have done a little work on some old Pratt and Whitney monsters a number of years ago. I currently teach machining and thought this would be an interesting way to expose the students to what a horizontal is without all the floor space. Anyway, as I delve into the restoration of this little guy I am realizing what a pile of work I have gotten myself into.

It turns out whomever had this poor thing at some point stripped off a number of its parts. The pulley system is this interesting contraption bolted to the counter shaft bracket. Nothing seems to be original. Also the the entire back gear assembly is gone as well as the spindle pulleys, gears, spacers, drawbar,power switch, the whole 9 yards.

I'm also having a little trouble getting the saddle off of the knee. I pulled the gib and screws and what not but it isn't popping off. Is there some trick I'm missing?

I would like to get this thing back to its original configuration but it looks like some of the parts may be a bit hard to find. I'm going to need the entire counter shaft hanger assembly, back gear assembly, spindle components and other odds and ends. I'm watching Ebay of course but I'm not sure how regularly some of these things pop up (especially the counter shaft hanger M1-21b). I've read up on the counter shaft pulley issues and if I can find the dimensions, I'll probably just CNC one out of aluminum.

Thoughts and suggestions would be appreciated. Also it looks like this machine lived its' life only cutting brass. Seems to be pounds of brass chips falling out of everywhere!

IMG_2483.JPG

IMG_2484.JPG

IMG_2485.JPG

IMG_2487.JPG

IMG_2488.JPG