[4]

B&S #2 Surface Grinder

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Ray C

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Hi Folks...

I've been using this B&S #2 grinder for a couple years. -One of my favorite pieces of equipment. Picked it up locally for $500 and it had 2 prior owners and I understand the last owner used it in his shop making OEM Harley Davidson parts for 30+ years. It was recently rebuilt and the ways scraped before it was retired in the 90's then, sat in a garage for 15 years. It runs great. Anyhow, the serial number is 4598 and am wondering if anyone has an idea of it's birthdate. I'm not one of those guys that gets sentimental about old iron. I just prefer to utilize it -new or old but, I'm just curious about how hold it is. I got a few ideas from some folks who think it was 1920's or 30's.

Appreciate any ideas. This picture is pretty old from when I was moving it into the garage. It now has a prominent place in the shop with it's own dust collector and I replaced (but kept) the power switch with a VFD.

Thanks....

Ray

P1020401.JPG

P1020401.JPG

D

Deleted member 473

Guest - Please Register!
Guest - Please Register!
Your surface grinder does not look that old or it's in very good shape. I found reference to a No. 2 on another site as a 1929 with s/n 9425, which is tellin me that yours is older than that.

Can you provide pictures of the motor drive setup, as well as more pictures of your grinder.

Borwn & Sharpe was making the No. 2 & no. 5 all the way into the 1950's before they changed their serial number system for grinders and other machines to a xxx-xxx-xxxx numbering system. The shape/design of the surface grinders changed about this time, too. My B & S surface grinder which is a 6 x 12 machine has s/n 523-612-3679.

BTW- I have a friend who has a serial number book that may go back that far. I'll send him a email and see what he can tell me.

D