Backing plate for a jet 1236p chuck 60mmx8tpi

Bill K

Registered
Registered
Hello all,
I'm one of the frequent lurkers on the site, just getting started in some serious amateur machining work. Finally got around to buying me a lathe and a mill, and a whole bunch of tooling, I am a retired shipwright so I have some some experience in machining, but mostly in welding, mechanical assembly and dc electrical , among other stupid things I've done in the past :).
I had a 1340 jet a while ago but found it too big for my shop so I got rid of it and got a 1236p jet lathe, along with a mayford ? knee mill, and I've got oodles of really nice tooling to go with them, ended up with a ALoris quick change head along with over 30 bit holders for it, I'm going to convert both of them to variable frequency drive or DC drive. I'm not sure witch yet along with digital readouts on both.
Anyway, the first thing I did was by a six jaw 8 inch Chuck for the lathe with a 2 1/4 by 8 tpi backing plate since I only had the Collett Chuck shown in the picture when I got the lathe, little did I know that the spindle on my lathe was a metric instead of American, I found out too late that it was a 60 mm x 8 TPI now I'm stuck since I don't have anything to turn out my own backing plate and I can't find anyplace to buy a backing plate in 60 mm, so my question is does anybody else have this lathe and if so, would they be willing to turn out a proper backing plate for my 8 inch Chuck? Of course any expenses including your labor and material will be covered along with shipping
the other option I was thinking of was that I could maybe grind my spindle down a little and succeed in doing it that way, I would end up having to remove some of the top thread dia. But it might just work, looking for opinions here.
Any help will be greatly appreciated. And of course if any parts are made monetary compensation will be made.