Backlash vs DRO

8mpg

Registered
Registered
Im brand new to machining. Havent actually taken my first cuts on the mill I bought (been building the rest of the shop). I know I have a couple issues with the mill to fix but started going over the mill. I found the backlash on the mill to be .022" in the x axis, .037" in the y axis. The table will pivot about .040 when pushing and pulling on the table. Im assuming I can fix part of that by the gib but its tighter towards the end.

So I was thinking of ordering a new set of split nuts and possibly the x and y screws. Then I thought, would it be wiser just to spend that money on a DRO? Im thinking since the DRO is independent of the screws and only measures when the table actually moves, is backlash as big of a deal?

The Y backlash seems a bit excessive, the X is not too bad, but could be tightened up. Your nuts may be adjustable, but the screws may be worn in the middle so if you tighten them up it may be tight on the ends.

The table is my biggest concern, 0.040 is a lot, tighten as best you can without having it over tight at the ends.

While the DRO ignores the backlash so hole pattern layouts will be pretty accurate, the play in the system will affect the accuracy and finish of your milling work.

Bottom line is I would tighten up the machine, then get a DRO.

Im brand new to machining. Havent actually taken my first cuts on the mill I bought (been building the rest of the shop). I know I have a couple issues with the mill to fix but started going over the mill. I found the backlash on the mill to be .022" in the x axis, .037" in the y axis. The table will pivot about .040 when pushing and pulling on the table. Im assuming I can fix part of that by the gib but its tighter towards the end.