Bead Blast Rust or Use Rust Converter?

Susan_in_SF

Wood and Metal Goddess
Registered
Hi Guys,

As many of you know, I am a poor newbie who is onto vintage machinery and tools. Hence, most of the stuff I can afford is rusty, to one degree or another.
I found this study that tested and compared various rust converters:

https://www.ncptt.nps.gov/blog/comparative-study-of-commercially-available-rust-converters/

Rust-oleum Rust Reformer came out the winner.

Since Rust-oleum Rust Reformer supposedly protects the metal from further rusting, I wondered when would bead blasting a rusty item still be preferred over converting the rust into a protective coating.

Also, for the times where bead blasting is a better option, is there anything better for rust prevention than to immediately paint with primer?

I am just a helpless woman looking for assistance.....lol ;-)

Thanks,
Susan

I have used what ever I have. As long as the metal is cleaned off before painting: oils etc. Washed off with liquor thinner , simple green etc.
I have never got rust coming through from metal machinery. Warm metal seams to take paint better. I have warmed up metal and sprayed painted in freezing weather and it has held well. Al.

When I can, I blast. But, for moving parts the grit can get in between things if you can't get it apart to clean up after. Blasting gets into the nooks better than a wire wheel sometimes and better for small parts in a cabinet. Metal will flash rust after blasting, so primer is your friend - you probably didn't get it all so I use the rust converter primer there too. I haven't used soda for media yet, but 80 grit beads will take out detail, smooth machined surfaces, and edges if that's important. I'm far from an authority on paint, but I do know rust prevention is more about prep than what's in the can if you use decent materials.

I think Evaporust is really useful for small items with surface rust. Works good, works fast and doesn't eat up the parent metal.