Beginner Measuring Devices

DangerZone

Registered
Registered
Yell at me if this should go elsewhere.

I am very new to machining still. I just acquired a lathe. It needs a little bit of effort put into before I'm turning anything, but leveling it is on my radar. This is probably going to be my first project requiring a fair bit of accuracy. My plan is to get it close enough to level with what I have on hand, and then start turning test bar's to check the alignment. Will I be in the ballpark if I spend ~$100 on a 6" caliper? Or should I be looking toward a 6" machinist level, a micrometer set, and some setting standards?

I also have my eye out for a dial indicator, but I'm even more unsure the level of precision I should be looking at there.

Basically, I'm just looking for guidance on how precise of measuring instruments I should be looking at getting before I know what I'm doing. An expensive micrometer will probably serve me well down the road, but at this point, I'm not sure what level of precision I even have the knowledge to take advantage of.

Thanks everyone!

A 6" digital cali[per can get you within a thousandth with careful work. A micrometer would be a better choice. If you are turning a test bar, absolute dimensions are not required, only the difference. Many lathes have been set up without the benefit of a machinist's level. If you wish to go that route, you will want a fairly accurate level, something like .0005"/10" but you will still want to run the two collar test.

Re: the dial indicator, a .0005"/div is commonly used. Same for a dial test indicator. I have had decent results with some imports which are a fraction of the name brand indicators.