Best Motor Enclosure for a Lathe

Allan

Active User
Registered
Last night whilst drilling a hole in the end of a shaft my lathe motor made a loud "pop" and shut down. It has made this pop on previous occasions but just kept on running. I suspect that metal chips get drawn inside by the fan and short something out. At any rate I need to replace the 3/4 horse motor and would like something that will not allow chips to get inside.

I am no expert on electric motors so I could use some advice. What type of motor enclosure should I be looking at? Some look totally enclosed but still have openings for cooling air. I don't want a repeat of this episode if possible. As always funds are an issue.

The existing motor is behind and inaccessible until I pull the lathe away from the walls so I can't give you much in the way of specs on it other than is wired for 220V 1Ph and is a capacitor start. It is the type that has good sized opening on the ends to allow cooling air to get in. It was on the lathe when I bought it and has done well for the last 6 or 7years.

Any help would be appreciated.

TEFC would be my choice.

(Total Enclosed Fan Cooled)

No box required.............:)

Thanks, Cathead. That was my first thought as well. But on further reading it appears that material can still get inside. How much of an issue would that be?

Thanks, Cathead. That was my first thought as well. But on further reading it appears that material can still get inside. How much of an issue would that be?

The motor is sealed and the fan is on the end blowing air over the outside of the enclosure. Any chips would blow through harmlessly I would think.

If you're getting chips in the motor, you should consider a TEFC (totally enclosed, fan cooled) motor. The fan inside the case circulates
air so that the heat dissipates from the housing. Chips can't get into the motor since it's sealed.