Blade Jumping Off The Lower Wheel Of A 4" X 6" Bandsaw

Al Slitter

Active User
Registered
Hello All;

I have an issue with my 4” x 6” metal cutting band saw that I hope someone can help me with?
The issue is the blade keeps jumping off the lower wheel when cutting at an angle or when cutting tubing. It is as thought the blade gets pinched or the cutting is interrupted.
I have been unable to remove the lower wheel even though I removed the retaining clip and grub screw.
The saw is very difficult to set up to track properly but when done it cuts at a nice 90 degree angle.
I have spent many hours trying to get this machine to operate better but have had limited results. I have changed blades, adjusted the upper wheel, adjusted the guide bearing as well as the dovetail holders on the blade arms.

I hope someone might assist me with this very frustrating situation?

Hi, Al,

I am no expert, but I believe that cutting tubing is a special problem because the blade is actually engaging very little material. I *think* you can mitigate this by manually lowering the saw more slowly during cutting. Some users who cut tubing often install a hydraulic cylinder whose purpose is to slow the rate of downward movement to perform the same function. There is an excellent Yahoo Group called the 4x6 Bandsaw group that could give you more expert information. Hopefully I am not violating any forum rules by mentioning it...

Good luck!

Charlie