Bought a few QCTPs to compare quality in inexpensive brands.

Mr Mike

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
While waiting for my lathe and twiddling my thumbs I bought a few less expensive QCTP brands to see if I was capable of spotting differences between them.

First one arrived today.

All Industrial in house brand Culton AXA, They said this set is new to them for about a year.. This set was about 159.00 shipped.

Keep in mind I'm totally new with little knowledge of QCTP & Holders, or life in general... That being said on first glance out of the box this Colton set looks pretty nice. Comes in a branded box individually wrapped in oil with a 5 yr warranty, and the finish seems nice...

I repackaged everything but kept a tool holder #102XL out to compare with my Accusize #102 none XL tool holder, see 2nd photo.

TPsml1.jpg

I haven't checked the rest of the Colton set, But I'm glad this piece has a 5 year Warranty cause I think its defective. While each face is flat, the holder isn't square and the top of the tool pocket inclines from right to left, Its not a camera aberration the hold down insert screw is vertical. I can't imagine this is ok but I could be wrong, On the plus side the thumb screw on the Colton set is .125 larger than the Accusize making it easier to adjust.

The rest of my Accusize set should be here Tomorrow, then I can check holder for holder differences, Guess I am kind of checking to see how well the build quality of the Accusize set is and if it will be adequate enough as a starter set, along with the BXA PM set thats coming I should bet set to start, then when I have a clue what I am doing, whats good and bad Ill give away or sell these sets and invest in proper tools. Good tooling on the other hand Id like to get good stuff off the bat, and will need help with, guess I need to get Davidpbests book ordered soon.

TPHsml.jpg

Last edited: