Bought an Everlast PowerTIG 250EX

Holescreek

Active User
Registered
I've had a Lincoln Square Wave 175 for many years and it has performed very well on steel but lately I've had the urge and some necessity to weld more aluminum. I'm a self taught welder (if you don't count hundreds of hours of Youtube) and through the magic of video research decided on an Everlast 250EX. I called Everlast direct and ordered the welder and water cooler on April 25th and the welder arrived by itself on May 3rd. I called Everlast's shipping dept and was told that the coolers had just arrived and were shipping out on the 4th.

In the meantime I needed a cart for the new welder and while it would've been nice to be able to use the Everlast I couldn't run it without the cooler and did the task with the Lincoln. The cooler finally arrived on May 9th.

Here's a pic of the partially complete cart:

20170506_131131_zpskhmfm8tr.jpg

20170506_131200_zps61gw16y8.jpg

I had the day off work (May 9th) and spent the first hour playing around with settings and used up the last of my Argon. I found a problem with the HF start working erratically and initially thought that there was a bad switch in the foot pedal. It didn't take long to figure out that I could scratch start the arc so I put a call in to Everlast tech support. Long story short, I played phone tag until I finally made contact about 6pm eastern time. Mark gave me a list of a couple of tests to run and also mentioned that the spark gap inside the welder may have gotten knocked out of position from handling.