Bridgeport mill alignment between turret,ram and the column.

LEEQ

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm studying up on restoration. Dry reading. On the vertical mills in the book, there is no turret and ram. When the machine is taken apart and laid on it's back the original bearing surface of the column ways are leveled and used as the datum point for beginning restoring the surfaces. Pretty important as the rest of the process keys off of this surface. With a Bridgeport style machine there are more moving parts in this equation. The turret and ram in specific. Are these supposed to be square to the column ways? When new, can you turn the turret and extend the ram without realigning the quill to the table? If so I would assume that this needs to be accounted for when scraping the column. If not I would think that with the nod and swivel of the quill housing being used to align it to the table, the column being perfectly perpendicular to this surface isn't necessary. So my?'s basically are; Do the ram and turret move precisely in relation to the column ways? If so, what are common methods for checking this alignment?

In my experience... the ram and turret would not be used in a machining operation. The head would be squared to the table top after either of these two parts were moved. When rescraping a Bridgeport machine I would scrape the saddle flat and parallel first. then use the saddle and a straight edge to scrape the top of the knee. The back of the knee is then scraped and checked for square. I would then use the knee and a straightedge to scrape the column ways.

John Fahnestock

Last edited by a moderator: